State Higher Education Agencies

  • Alabama
    Alabama Commission on Higher Education (C)
    Gregory G. Fitch, Executive Director
    P. O. Box 302000
    100 North Union Street
    Montgomery, Alabama 36130-2000
    t: 334-242-1998
    f: 334-242-0268
    gregory.fitch@ache.alabama.gov
    www.ache.state.al.us
  • Alaska
    Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education (C)
    Diane Barrans, Executive Director
    P.O. Box 110505
    Juneau, Alaska 99811-0505
    t: 907-465-6740
    f: 907-465-3293
    diane.barrans@alaska.gov
    akadvantage.alaska.gov
  • Alaska
    University of Alaska System (G)
    Mark R. Hamilton, President
    910 Yukon Drive, Suite 202
    P. O. Box 755000
    Fairbanks, Alaska 99775-5000
    t: 907-450-8000
    f: 907-450-8002
    sypres@alaska.edu
    www.alaska.edu
  • Arizona
    Arizona Board of Regents (G)
    Joel Sideman, Executive Director
    2020 North Central Avenue, Suite 230
    Phoenix, Arizona 85004-4593
    t: 602-229-2500
    f: 602-229-2555
    joel.sideman@azregents.edu
    www.azregents.edu
  • Arkansas
    Arkansas Department of Higher Education (C)
    James Purcell, Director
    114 East Capitol Avenue
    Little Rock, Arkansas 72201
    t: 501-371-2000
    f: 501-371-2003
    jpurcell@adhe.edu
    www.adhe.edu
  • California
    California Postsecondary Education Commission (C)

    Murray Haberman, Executive Director
    770 L Street, Suite 1160
    Sacramento, California 95814-2932
    t: 916-445-1000
    f: 916-327-4417
    agomez@cpec.ca.gov
    mhaberman@cpec.ca.gov
    http://www.cpec.ca.gov
  • Colorado
    Colorado Commission on Higher Education (C)
    David E. Skaggs, Executive Director, Colorado Department of Higher Education
    1380 Lawrence Street, Suite 1200
    Denver, Colorado 80204-2059
    t: 303-866-2723
    f: 303-866-4266
    david.skaggs@cche.state.co.us
    www.state.co.us/cche_dir/hecche.html
  • Connecticut
    Connecticut Department of Higher Education (C)
    Valerie F. Lewis, Commissioner
    61 Woodland Street
    Hartford, Connecticut 06105-2326
    t: 860-947-1800
    f: 860-947-1310 and/or 860-947-1311
    vlewis@ctdhe.org
    www.ctdhe.org
  • Delaware
    Delaware Higher Education Commission (C)
    Maureen Laffey, Director
    820 North French Street
    Wilmington, Delaware 19801
    t: 302-577-5240
    f: 302-577-6765
    dhec@doe.k12.de.us
    mlaffey@doe.k12.de.us
    www.doe.k12.de.us/dhec
  • District of Columbia
    Office of the Office of the State Superintendent of Education (C)
    Eurmon Hervey, Director of Education Programs
    441 - 4th Street, NW, Suite 350N
    Washington, D.C. 20001
    t: 202-724-7739
    f: 202-727-2739
    eurmon.hervey@dc.gov
    seo.dc.gov/seo/cwp/view,a,1222,q,535237.asp
  • Florida
    State University System of Florida (G)
    Mark Rosenberg, Chancellor
    Turlington Building, Suite 1614
    325 West Gaines Street
    Tallahassee, FL 32399
    t: 850-245-0466
    f: 850-245-9685
    chancellor@flbog.org
    www.flbog.org
  • Georgia
    Georgia Board of Regents (G)
    Erroll B. Davis, Jr., Chancellor
    University System of Georgia
    270 Washington Street, S.W.
    Atlanta, Georgia 30334
    t: 404-656-2202
    f: 404-657-6979
    chancellor@usg.edu
    www.usg.edu
  • Hawaii
    Hawaii Board of Regents (G)
    David McClain, President
    University of Hawaii System
    2444 Dole Street
    Bachman Hall 202
    Honolulu, Hawaii 96822
    t: 808-956-8207
    f: 808-956-5286
    mcclain@hawaii.edu
    www.hawaii.edu
  • Idaho
    Idaho State Board of Education (G)
    Mike Rush, Phd, Interim Executive Director
    P.O. Box 83720
    Boise, Idaho 83720-0037
    t: 208-332-1591
    f: 208-334-2632
    board@osbe.idaho.gov
    mike.rush@osbe.idaho.gov
    www.boardofed.idaho.gov
  • Illinois
    Illinois Board of Higher Education (C)
    Judy Erwin, Executive Director
    431 East Adams Street, Second Floor
    Springfield, Illinois 62701-1404
    t: 217-782-2551
    f: 217-782-8548
    info@ibhe.org
    erwin@ibhe.org
    www.ibhe.state.il.us
  • Indiana
    Indiana Commission for Higher Education (C)
    Stanley G. Jones, Commissioner
    101 West Ohio Street, Suite 550
    Indianapolis, Indiana 46204-1971
    t: 317-464-4400
    f: 317-464-4410
    sjones@che.state.in.us
    www.che.state.in.us
  • Iowa
    Board of Regents, State of Iowa (G)
    Andy Baumert, Interim Executive Director
    11260 Aurora Avenue
    Urbandale, Iowa 50322-7905
    t: 515-281-3934
    f: 515-281-6420
    abaumert@iastate.edu
    www2.state.ia.us/regents
  • Kansas
    Kansas Board of Regents (G)
    Reginald L. Robinson, President & CEO
    1000 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 520
    Topeka, Kansas 66612-1368
    t: 785-296-3421
    f: 785-296-0983
    rrobinson@ksbor.org
    www.kansasregents.org
  • Kentucky
    Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education (C)
    Brad Cowgill, President
    1024 Capital Center Drive, Suite 320
    Frankfort, Kentucky 40601-8204
    t: 502-573-1555
    f: 502-573-1535
    cpe.webmaster@mail.state.ky.us
    bradford.cowgill@ky.gov
    cpe.ky.gov
  • Louisiana
    Louisiana Board of Regents (C)
    E. Joseph Savoie, Commissioner of Higher Education
    Mailing:
    P.O. Box 3677
    Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70821-3677
    Street:
    1201 North Third Street, Suite 6-200
    Baton Rouge, LA 70802
    t: 225-342-4253
    f: 225-342-9318 or 225-342-6926
    commish@la.gov
    www.regents.state.la.us
  • Maine
    University of Maine System (G)
    Richard Pattenaude, Chancellor
    16 Central Street
    Bangor, Maine 04401
    t: 207-973-3201
    f: 207-973-3296
    moreinfo@maine.edu
    pattenau@usm.maine.edu
    www.maine.edu
  • Maryland
    Maryland Higher Education Commission (C)
    James Earl Lyons, Sr., Secretary of Higher Education
    839 Bestgate Road, Suite 400
    Annapolis, Maryland 21401
    t: 410-260-4500
    Toll Free: 800-974-0203
    f: 410-260-3200
    jlyons@mhec.state.md.us
    www.mhec.state.md.us
  • Massachusetts
    Massachusetts Board of Higher Education (G)
    Patricia F. Plummer, Chancellor
    One Ashburton Place, Room 1401
    Boston, Massachusetts 02108-1696
    t: 617-994-6950
    f: 617-994-6397
    bhe@bhe.mass.edu
    pplummer@bhe.mass.edu
    www.mass.edu
  • Michigan
    State of Michigan: Dept. of Career Development (not a member) (C)
    Keith Cooley, Department of Labor & Economic Growth (DLEG) Director
    Department of Career Development
    201 North Washington Square
    Victor Office Center, 7th Floor
    Lansing, MI 48913
    t: 517-241-4000
    f: 517-373-0314
    career@state.mi.us
    www.michigan.gov/mdcd
  • Minnesota
    Minnesota Office of Higher Education (C)
    Susan Heegaard, Director
    1450 Energy Park Drive, Suite 350
    St. Paul, Minnesota 55108-5227
    t: 651-642-0567
    Toll-free t: 800-657-3866
    f: 651-642-0675
    susan.heegaard@state.mn.us
    www.ohe.state.mn.us
  • Minnesota
    Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (G)
    James H. McCormick, Chancellor
    Wells Fargo Place
    30 - 7th St. E., Suite 350
    Saint Paul, MN 55101-7804
    t: 651-296-8012
    Toll-free t: 888-667-2848
    f: 651-297-3312
    james.mccormick@so.mnscu.edu
    www.mnscu.edu
  • Mississippi
    Mississippi State Institutions of Higher Learning (G)
    Thomas Meredith, Commissioner of Higher Education
    Board of Trustees
    3825 Ridgewood Road
    Jackson, Mississippi 39211
    t: 601-432-6623
    f: 601-432-6972
    commissioner@mississippi.edu
    www.mississippi.edu
  • Missouri
    Missouri Department of Higher Education (C)
    Robert B. Stein, Commissioner
    3515 Amazonas Drive
    Jefferson City, Missouri 65109-5717
    t: 573-751-2361
    f: 573-751-6635
    robert.stein@dhe.mo.gov
    www.dhe.mo.gov
  • Montana
    Montana University System (G)
    Sheila M. Stearns, Commissioner of Higher Education
    Office of the Commissioner of Higher Education
    46 North Last Chance Gulch
    P.O. Box 23201
    Helena, Montana 59601-4122
    t: 406-444-6570
    f: 406-444-1469
    sstearns@montana.edu
    www.mus.edu
  • Nebraska
    Nebraska Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Education (C)
    Marshall A. Hill, Executive Director
    140 North 8th Street, Suite 300
    P. O. Box 95005
    Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-5005
    t: 402-471-2847
    f: 402-471-2886
    marshall.hill@ccpe.ne.gov
    www.ccpe.state.ne.us/PublicDoc/CCPE/Default.asp
  • Nevada
    Nevada System of Higher Education (G)
    James E. Rogers, Chancellor
    System Administration North
    2601 Enterprise Road
    Reno, Nevada 89512-1666
    t: 775-784-4905
    f: 775-784-1127

    System Administration South
    5550 W. Flamingo Road, Suite C-1
    Las Vegas, Nevada 89103
    t: 702-889-8426
    f: 702-889-8492
    chancellor@nevada.edu
    system.nevada.edu
  • New Hampshire
    New Hampshire Postsecondary Education Commission (C)
    Kathryn G. Dodge, Executive Director
    3 Barrell Court, Suite 300
    Concord, NH 03301-8543
    t: 603-271-2555
    f: 603-271-2696
    kdodge@pec.state.nh.us
    www.nh.gov/postsecondary
  • New Hampshire
    University System of New Hampshire (G)
    Stephen J. Reno, Chancellor
    Dunlap Center
    25 Concord Road
    Lee, New Hampshire 03861
    f: 603-862-0908
    t: 603-862-1800
    stephen.reno@usnh.edu
    www.usnh.edu
  • New Jersey
    New Jersey Commission on Higher Education (C)
    Jane Oates, Executive Director
    20 West State Street
    P. O. Box 542
    Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0542
    t: 609-292-4310
    f: 609-292-7225 or 633-8420
    nj_che@che.state.nj.us
    jane.oates@che.state.nj.us
    www.state.nj.us/highereducation
  • New Mexico
    New Mexico Higher Education Department (C)
    Reed Dasenbrock, Cabinet Secretary
    1068 Cerrillos Road
    Santa Fe, New Mexico 87505-1650
    t: 505-476-6500
    f: 505-476-6511
    laura.mulry@state.nm.us
    reed.dasenbrock@state.nm.us
    www.hed.state.nm.us
  • New York
    New York State Education Department (C)
    Johanna Duncan-Poitier, Deputy Commissioner for Higher Education
    2nd Floor Mezzanine West EB
    89 Washington Avenue
    Albany, New York 12234
    t: 518-474-3862
    f: 518-486-2175
    hedepcom@mail.nysed.gov
    www.highered.nysed.gov
  • North Carolina
    The University of North Carolina (G)
    Erskine B. Bowles, President
    General Administration
    910 Raleigh Road
    P. O. Box 2688
    Chapel Hill, North Carolina 27515-2688
    t: 919 962-1000
    f: 919-843-9695
    ebowles@northcarolina.edu
    www.northcarolina.edu
  • North Dakota
    North Dakota University System (G)
    William E. Goetz, Chancellor
    600 East Boulevard Avenue, Department 215
    Bismarck, North Dakota 58505-0230
    t: 701-328-2960
    f: 701-328-2961
    william.goetz@ndus.nodak.edu
    www.ndus.nodak.edu
  • Ohio
    Ohio Board of Regents (C)
    Eric D. Fungerhut, Chancellor
    30 East Broad Street, 36th Floor
    Columbus, Ohio 43215-3414
    t: 614-466-6000
    f: 614-466-5866
    regents@regents.state.oh.us
    efingerhut@regents.state.oh.us
    regents.ohio.gov
  • Oklahoma
    Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education (C)
    Glen D. Johnson, Chancellor
    655 Research Parkway, Suite 200
    Oklahoma City, OK 73104
    t: 405-225-9100
    f: 405-225-9230
    gjohnson@osrhe.edu
    www.okhighered.org
  • Oregon
    Oregon University System (G)
    George Pernsteiner, Chancellor
    P. O. Box 3175
    Eugene, Oregon 97403-0175
    t: 541-346-5700
    f: 541-346-5764
    george_pernsteiner@ous.edu
    www.ous.edu
  • Pennsylvania
    Pennsylvania State Department of Education (C)
    Kathleen Shaw, Deputy Secretary for Postsecondary & Higher Education
    Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
    333 Market Street
    Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17126-0333
    t: 717-787-5041
    f: 717-783-5420
    00postse@psupen.psu.edu
    katshaw@state.pa.us
    www.pdehighered.state.pa.us/higher/site/default.asp
  • Pennsylvania
    Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education (G)
    Judy G. Hample, Chancellor
    2986 North Second Street
    Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17110
    t: 717-720-4000
    f: 717-720-4011
    jhample@passhe.edu
    www.passhe.edu
  • Puerto Rico
    Puerto Rico Council on Higher Education (G)
    Viviana Abreu, Executive Director
    Box 19900
    San Juan, Puerto Rico 00910-1900
    t: 787-724-7100
    f: 787-721-6447
    vi_abreu@ces.gobierno.pr
    www.ces.gobierno.pr
  • Rhode Island
    Rhode Island Board of Governors for Higher Education (G)
    Jack R. Warner, Commissioner
    301 Promenade Street
    Providence, Rhode Island 02908-5748
    t: 401-455-9300
    f: 401-455-9314
    ribghe@etal.uri.edu
    jwarner@etal.uri.edu
    www.ribghe.org
  • South Carolina
    South Carolina Commission on Higher Education (C)
    Garrison Walters, Executive Director
    1333 Main Street, Suite 200
    Columbia, South Carolina 29201
    t: 803-737-2260
    f: 803-737-2297
    gwalters@che.sc.gov
    www.che.sc.gov
  • South Dakota
    South Dakota Board of Regents (G)
    Robert T. (Tad) Perry, Executive Director
    306 East Capitol Avenue, Suite 200
    Pierre, South Dakota 57501-2409
    t: 605-773-3455
    f: 605-773-5320
    info@sdbor.edu
    tadp@sdbor.edu
    www.ris.sdbor.edu
  • Tennessee
    Tennessee Higher Education Commission (C)
    Richard G. Rhoda, Executive Director
    404 James Robertson Parkway
    Parkway Towers, Suite 1900
    Nashville, Tennessee 37243-0830
    t: 615-741-3605
    f: 615-741-6230
    richard.rhoda@state.tn.us
    www.state.tn.us/thec
  • Texas
    Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (C)
    Raymund A. Paredes, Commissioner
    Mailing:
    P.O. Box 12788
    Austin, Texas 78711-2788
    1200 East Anderson Lane
    Austin, TX 78752-1743
    t: 512-427-6101
    Toll Free: 800-242-3062
    f: 512-427-6127
    raymund.paredes@thecb.state.tx.us
    www.thecb.state.tx.us
  • Utah
    Utah System of Higher Education (G)
    David L. Buhler, Interim Commissioner of Higher Education
    Board of Regents Building, The Gateway
    60 South 400 West
    Salt Lake City, Utah 84101-1284
    t: 801-321-7100
    f: 801-321-7199
    jcottrell@utahsbr.edu
    www.utahsbr.edu
  • Vermont
    University of Vermont (G)
    Daniel Mark Fogel, President
    Waterman Building
    Burlington, Vermont 05405
    t: 802-656-3186
    f: 802-656-1363
    president@uvm.edu
    daniel.fogel@uvm.edu
    www.uvm.edu
  • Vermont
    Vermont State Colleges (G)
    Robert G. Clarke, Chancellor
    Mailing:
    P. O. Box 359
    Waterbury, Vermont 05676-0359
    Street:
    Park Street, Stanley Hall
    Waterbury, VT 05676-0539
    t: 802-241-2526
    f: 802-241-3369
    robert.clarke@quark.vsc.edu
    web.vsc.edu
  • Virginia
    State Council of Higher Education for Virginia (C)
    Daniel J. LaVista, Executive Director
    101 North Fourteenth Street
    Richmond, Virginia 23219
    t: 804-225-2600
    f: 804-225-2604
    communications@schev.edu
    DanielLaVista@schev.edu
    www.schev.edu
  • Washington
    Washington Higher Education Coordinating Board (C)
    Ann E. Daley, Executive Director
    917 Lakeridge Way
    P.O. Box 43430
    Olympia, Washington 98504-3430
    t: 360-753-7800
    f: 360-753-7808
    info@hecb.wa.com
    annd@hecb.wa.gov
    www.hecb.wa.gov
  • West Virginia
    West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission (G)
    Brian Noland, Chancellor
    1018 Kanawha Boulevard, East, Suite 700
    Charleston, West Virginia 25301
    t: 304-558-2101
    f: 304-558-5719
    noland@hepc.wvnet.edu
    www.hepc.wvnet.edu
  • Wisconsin
    University of Wisconsin System (G)
    Kevin P. Reilly, President
    1700 Van Hise Hall
    1220 Linden Drive
    Madison, Wisconsin 5370
    6-1559 t: 608-262-2321
    f: 608-262-3985
    kreilly@uwsa.edu
    www.wisconsin.edu
  • Wyoming
    University of Wyoming (G)
    Thomas Buchanan, President
    Department 3434
    1000 E. University Avenue
    Laramie, Wyoming 82071
    t: 307-766-4121
    f: 307-766-4126
    tombuch@uwyo.edu
    www.uwyo.edu
  • Wyoming
    Wyoming Community College Commission (C)
    James O. Rose, Executive Director
    2020 Carey Avenue, 8th Floor
    Cheyenne, Wyoming 82002
    t: 307-777-7763
    f: 307-777-6567
    jrose@commission.wcc.edu
    www.communitycolleges.wy.edu
Scholarships.com - Find Money For College